Murphy Brown: Season 11 Reviews

Page 1 of 3
November 26, 2018
Season 11 has proven to be so strong in giving us comedy while while offering social commentary on our nation's politics.
November 24, 2018
It's great to have Murphy Brown back on the air but the show is missing the politically-incorrect edginess it once had.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.0/4
November 7, 2018
Murphy Brown's return has brought unfiltered politics back to primetime in a way we haven't seen in a long while; as the only comedy about journalists on TV, Murphy Brown's been able to wring humor and insight from today's headlines.
October 5, 2018
I will take my public disavowals of attacks on journalism where I can get them, even when they're flawed, and even when they feel like a cathartic excuse to rail against what's essentially a cardboard cut-out of a real person.
September 28, 2018
[Season 11] isn't exactly subtle about its political leanings.
September 28, 2018
The bottom line is Murphy is relatable. If we can't see Murphy in ourselves, we have a Murphy in our lives to compare her to, right? Unless the show sticks with only political jabs, Murphy Brown might be a success.
Full Review | Original Score: 4.5/5
September 28, 2018
Bergen recaptures that force-of-nature energy in every frame of the revival; even in a TV landscape rich with complex women, there's no one else quite like Murphy.
September 28, 2018
Though it's a bumpy ride for the first few episodes, Murphy Brown delivers an energetic return that feels galvanized by the world it's compelled to comment on.
September 28, 2018
But it's great to hear her voice and her sly comic chops on the reboot of her character, enlisted to do a morning cable news shows with a few of her former cohorts from the show.
September 28, 2018
There was more that we liked than we didn't like. But if it's going to be 13 episodes of speeches, the show won't last beyond one return season.
September 28, 2018
The humor there seems a little heavy-handed. But on "Murphy Brown," it always did. But I always liked Candice Bergen in the role and the show's defiantly outspoken sense of humor.
September 27, 2018
It's funny and sweet and true to its roots, if, at times, a little obvious in its aims.
September 27, 2018
If we haven't entirely lost our sense of humor in these polarized times, there's great nostalgic pleasure to be had watching Bergen's Murphy back in action, with foes worthy of her ideological wrath.
September 27, 2018
Bergen still rattles off her lines as if she's in a hurry to get to lunch, but the cast has chemistry to spare.
September 27, 2018
The agitation this Murphy Brown generated is familiar from many or most of the recent remakes and reboots, but this one has pleasures and purpose that very few of them can equal.
September 26, 2018
Easily the best aspect of Murphy Brown is how it acknowledges the meta elements of its existence without sacrificing the quality of its comedy or breaking the fourth wall.
Full Review | Original Score: A-
September 26, 2018
But in the moment it hits, Murphy's wry sarcasm really sings.
September 26, 2018
Compared with "Roseanne," "Murphy" succeeds simply by being more of what it originally was: fast, sharp and unwaveringly pointed.
September 24, 2018
To paraphrase Murphy's line, there's a difference between good television and an attention-getting concept and title. Murphy Brown certainly possesses the latter, but only sporadically qualifies as the former.
November 26, 2018
This reboot is tiresome.
Page 1 of 3