Instant Family - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Instant Family Reviews

Page 1 of 3
November 18, 2018
Great movie that accurately reflects the benefits and challenges of fostering children.
½ November 18, 2018
Surprisingly effective film about a couple adopting three children. Isabela Moner as the teenage girl is the highlight here though Mark Wahlberg and Rose Byrne are both effective.. Good bits by the supporting cast as well.
November 18, 2018
This movie not only was funny and sweet and the same time it also brought new light to the importance of foster care and adoption,was their a few movie cleiches we've seen before yes but it was still funny,heartwarming and great for the whole family.
November 18, 2018
Its a great family Id watch it a million more time a great family movie.
November 18, 2018
very good movie funny and sad all at the same tim
November 17, 2018
this has that made-for-TV Hallmark channel vibe
but it reunites Mark Whalberg and Isabela Moner for a heartwarming story about having a family despite no blood relations
doesnt exactly paint a true picture of the foster care system but anyone hoping to adopt children will get some good sentiment out of it
this is actually based on the director's real life as well and totally related to me on a personal level
Mark Whalberg and Rose Byrne play a couple whom are both in a rut; they seem to be the only ones without children and putting it off for so long
so they decide to fill that void adopting not 1, not 2 but 3 Latino kids
the oldest is Lizzie played by Isabela Moner who traditionally goes through all the raging hormones but there's a reason she hates the world since her birth mother couldnt get her act together and ended up in prison and Lizzie was forced to be the parent for her siblings
now Whalberg and Bryne deal with the ups and downs of having kids around, at times they want to just throw in the towel but isnt that how every parent feels?
the job of parenting comes with good and bad, the only way through it is together, the kids need protection whether they want it or not, plus love is what they're supposed to provide
granted there's jarring tonal shifts here from being super dramatic to overly funny, some of it isn't balanced that well but there's enough of that close family vibe to recommend it
½ November 17, 2018
Some of the comedy seemed a little far fetch but it was a great and fun experience.
½ November 17, 2018
I cried and laughed and cried and laughed. I didn't have enough time to finish crying or laughing because the movie was good with pacing the emotions. Great movie!
November 17, 2018
A great mix of laughter and tears. The kids are fantastic and I have never scene Wahlberg cry in a movie so much. Rose Byrne does a fantastic job too. Go see this movie, you won't regret it.
November 17, 2018
i thought this was super cute & quite funny. i'd watch it again.
November 17, 2018
Wish movies like this got the big box office and won all the awards. Moved me from laughter to tears in seconds. Wonderful stuff. Real enough to be very funny though most of it but real enough to be painful as well.
½ November 17, 2018
First of all, the acting in this film just perfect. In every scene, you can see and tell that all the actors and actresses were giving it their one hundred and ten percent. Mark Wahlberg and Rose Byrne played compelling characters that seemed like real people. I think any parent will be able to relate to them in one way or another. The kid actors did great, especially Isabela Moner who plays Lizzy. Just like how Mark and Rose played characters parents can relate to Isabela played a character that a majority of teens can relate to. I know I could easily relate to her. The pacing in the film was surprisingly great. I thought for a film like this they would want to rush some scenes but no. All the scenes seemed to have the perfect pacing in them and only a few of them were cut a bit too short but that didn't bother me too much. The humour in this film was placed in the right places and didn't seem forced. This film will take you on an emotional rollercoaster. At some parts, you'll be happy and laughing while in others trying to hold back tears. I also really enjoyed how the film felt like you were a fly on the wall during all the scenes. I think my only big problem with this film is when they tried to throw more conflict into the film. I won't say what they did but it was unnecessary and could have just been cut out of the film altogether. Also, the few scenes that should have been longer but weren't also kind of bugged me but didn't ruin my enjoyment of the film. In the end, this film is an excellent film for the whole family to go and see.
November 17, 2018
Instant Parents surprised me.I was expecting to laugh ( which I did) but not expecting to cry as much as I did. You could tell the audience was feeling pretty emotional,too.This movie was funny yet pulled at our heartstrings. I loved it
November 17, 2018
Great film nice tear jerkier here and there. Some things were not perfect but overall a wonderful fo;m.
November 17, 2018
Surprise! Bet you didn't think I was going to be reviewing a somewhat family comedy, but here it is and man i was pretty surprised myself that I liked this one...a lot. Director Sean Anders is mostly a miss for me. I really enjoyed his first big movie Sex Drive (2008), found That's My Boy (2012) to be better than most recent Adam Sandler films, but I felt like his last few films Horrible Bosses 2 (2014), Daddy's Home (2015) and it's sequel just were bad. It's good to see him return to form with Instant Family. Loosely based on Anders real life story of adopting 3 kids this movie follows Pete (Mark Wahlberg) and Ellie (Rose Byrne) a married couple that decides through some convincing and thought that they want to adopt a kid. They think since they're already a bit older it would make more sense to adopt a kid that needs a home and they won't be an "old parent" since the child will be a few years old already. They go to a foster home class for a few weeks to learn the basics of what's needed and when it finally comes for the day to meet some kids at a meet and greet....it doesn't go well. All the kids don't seem to connect with Pete or Ellie. This is all true until they run into the teenager crowd who usually don't get adopted because no one apparently wants a teenager. They meet a young girl named Lizzy (Isabela Moner) who has kind of an attitude, but leaves an impression on the two adults. Long story short they end up asking about Lizzie, but find out she has two other siblings that she comes with the shy Juan (Gustavo Quiroz) and the energetic Lita (Julianna Gamiz). They agree to take the three kids in and at first it seems like things are perfect. But, soon enough the "honeymoon" phase ends and Pete and Ellie have to understand what being a parent truly means. Overall, it's a bit predictable, but it's a very genuine film. It has a lot of heart and mixes together comedy and drama very well. I really liked the performances in this one. The kids are extremely likeable and I have to give credit to Moner who does a great job of being that angst like teenager that has a lot more going on then you think. The only gripe I have is the ending. Things sort of just happen a bit...too convenient. Overall, solid film that I think just about everyone could enjoy. I highly recommend giving it a look.
November 17, 2018
It was an amazing movie! Was not as comedic as I thought it was going to be going. Would not suggest going with highly emotional people. I took my sister and that turned out to be a terrible idea because she cried the entirety of the movie. Overall great movie though!
½ November 17, 2018
Although there are certainly a number of flaws in this movie, this movie's heart is definitely in the right place. When you add it all up at the end, it largely works. I did like Isabela Moner's performance in this movie. Wound up liking this movie
November 17, 2018
This movie is not accurate in the sense of the process it takes to adopt, it is however, accurate about the 3 stereotypes of how a foster child acts. As one myself from the age of five to 18, I was very upset with how the ads were not promoting the type of movie it was. If you went through this and get triggered at all, I would NOT recommend this movie.
November 17, 2018
"Instant Family" is a good family movie that has good comedy, good humor, trauma, and she was the real struggle of the hard life of being a foster family while having moments of that makes the audience tear up. The acting in the movie was decent on some parts but also very distracting when it comes to the side characters that the children meet a longer journey with her new foster parents, while with the foster parents One of them being played by Mark Wahlberg they're acting shows the real struggle and effort it takes to have a successful family. The age rating for it being PG-13 works perfectly fine and this movie and doesn't try going overboard with the story or the acting. I recommend this movie for all families because for me it helps show white children these days should be thankful for and help scroll families together growing a better relationship. I'd give "Instant Family" a rating 10/10 for great acting, Story, and entertainment.
Page 1 of 3