Fantastic Beasts: The Crimes of Grindelwald - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Fantastic Beasts: The Crimes of Grindelwald Reviews

Page 1 of 56
November 20, 2018
While it as a faster, slightly more intruiguing main plot than its predecessor along with some additionally fun world building, and Jude Law, Johnny Depp, and even Dan Fogler bring needed heart and convincing menace to the table, this Wizarding World entry is overly dark and bogged down in characters and subplots.
½ November 20, 2018
Save yourself from watching this movie! It's completely different than the first one in every way possible. There are few "beasts" and the plot is jacked up! Long story short, the guy died 15 years before this movie. You'll find out an hour and a half in to it and then you're forced to wait 45 minutes for the theater to turn back on the lights. The characters are so hard to follow and understand what is going on. I can't believe Jude Law has falling this far in Hollywood!
November 20, 2018
A complete and very embarassing mess of a film.
½ November 20, 2018
As a Harry Potter fan, disappointing. I was worried already as the first film was very meh. The film is not bad, David Yates did a good job with the direction. I think the film is much cleaner and better put together than the last one. The problem is JK Rowling is trying to cram too much into one 2 hour movie. She is a great novelist, but not a great screenwriter. Steve Kloves should co-write with her because he knows how to properly develop a script.
½ November 20, 2018
I loved the soundtracks ! I prefer this one because there's more going on, I'm kind of happy on how they showed the relationship between Grindelwald/Dumbeldore even though it could have been a bit more explicit. I think Jude Law did a very good job with Dumbeldore's character and I actually got surprised by Johnny Depp's performance, he usually keeps the gesture of Jack Sparrow but not here, he was pretty badass
½ November 20, 2018
Way too many characters. Way too much.
November 20, 2018
I love Harry Potter and the first Fantastic Beasts, but this was...not great.
November 20, 2018
There were quite a number of threads woven together in this movie, so some of them suffered. Jacob and Queenie continue to be the heart of the story, with Newt's beasts providing most of the magic. I'm still a little stumped by the climax, and the Credence storyline wasn't well executed. But this is a gob-smackingly beautiful movie with a lot of great characters and performances. Like most of the Wizarding World stories, the villains are not the strong point. But the world-building is like nothing else, and I still recommend seeing this in the theater. The overall effect is still magical.
November 20, 2018
The story feels like a cheap fanfiction of the first movie. Not even the amazing performances could make the experience consistently enjoyable.
November 20, 2018
Not much this part.. Hope the next one will be good.
½ November 20, 2018
FANTASTIC BEASTS: THE CRIMES OF GRINDELWALD ´┐ 1/2 1/2-
As a huge Harry Potter fan, this movie is a bit of a mess. I am kinda disappointed. Kind of. This is easily the worst Harry Potter-Fantastic Beasts movie in my opinion. It crashes my heart a little bit (obviously in a bad way). I´┐ 1/2 1/2(TM)m not saying it´┐ 1/2 1/2(TM)s a complete disaster. The story line is just hard to follow due to its excessive plot twists and sub plots. It is occasionally boring. I feel like the story is better off on paper bound to create a book than on a 2 hr+ film. Wizards and Paris don´┐ 1/2 1/2(TM)t go well together as compared to Europe and America as impressively delivered by its predecessor. In general, the movie is OK though my wizard self is trying to convince itself to go wow about it but unsuccessful. Nevertheless, this movie will still appeal to a lot of people. The characters are distinct and likeable, not to mention Eddie Redmayne´┐ 1/2 1/2(TM)s charm. The new beasts shown [together with the old ones] are showcased in a proper level though I still feel like more beasts should be present, hence the title. There are parts that stun you on a visual standpoint. Some parts also have action scenes that are bold and gorgeous.
I´┐ 1/2 1/2(TM)m dreading that my queen, Jo Rowling is slowly losing her mojo or perhaps, it´┐ 1/2 1/2(TM)s a mere phase of transition from literature to screen writing. I feel like I need to mention again that the script (written by her) looks phenomenal if it´┐ 1/2 1/2(TM)s in a novel form rather than a movie´┐ 1/2 1/2(TM)s screenplay.
Yes. I´┐ 1/2 1/2(TM)m still looking forward to see the third chapter of Fantastic Beasts. I cannot just discontinue now that the audience is given a peek of more revelations in the future. It expands the Harry Potter universe we used to love
November 20, 2018
Before watching the movie, I read several critical remarks about it. Now having seen it, I am overwhelmed by the quality of the actors`performances. Of course the beasts are charming and the imagination is fantastic. I also love the way 3D is applied. But what struck me most is the art of embodiment of such complex characters, like J. Depp's clearly being guided by Dr. Josef Mengele, the "white angel" of Auschwitz. Mengele had a special interest in heterochrome-eyes, even his victims could not really divide the monster and his temporary strange patriarch-like kindness. He could do the most hrrible things to living beings and humans like it was nothing and on the other hand be seemingly interested in their certain kind of well-being. So besides his obvious monstrous crimes, even his victims were deceived by his appearance. He had set up a certain frame victims had to walk through and he stood there deciding who will live a little longer being of use to him and who will die right away. And he enjoyed the power of the selection.... This seems to be the image of the blue selecting fire ring Grindlewald is setting up. There are many relations. The political message of the movie may not be too subtle and yet from a German point of view, Nazism and the narcism it comprises of have gain started poisoning people's minds all over the world again. In the movie it was tried to deal with the mental prerequisites of the leaders and why people feel seduced by such personalities and ideas. The setting may be a phantasy world in costumes, and the mindsets are shown in simplified ways, yet not lacking reality. The music and sounds are terrific, many charming visual ideas. I liked the first part of the magical beasts quite well, but this second part really is a piece of art to me.
November 20, 2018
Amazing! Sets up a sequel perfectly!
November 20, 2018
I don't see what all the fuss about this movie is, saying it's bad. I enjoyed it for the most part. Yes there were things that could've been done better, but that's true of most movies, including the entire Harry Potter series.

I would like to know more about Lita's relationship with the Scamander brothers, but I can't see that happening now given the film's events, but you never know.

I've seen people bashing the timeline because there's a Professor McGonagall in it despite our McGonagall not being born until after the film's events, but that doesn't mean to say it is our McGonagall, it could very well be a relative.

What we must remember is that JKR had a huge hand in writing this and we know how great she is at leaving little breadcrumbs that you don't even notice until going back through content a second or third time. So I don't believe for a second that she's taken a dump on her own timeline.

Between leaving the cinema and reaching the car I already had 3 semi formed theories about the twist at the end.

All in all, I thoroughly enjoyed it and can't wait for the next instalment.
November 20, 2018
I do not understand the low rating from critics. This was AMAZING!
November 20, 2018
So boring If you haven't slept for a while this will certainly put you to sleep
This movie has NO MAGIC .... Put it out of it's misery
½ November 20, 2018
Not what I had expected. It was good but the first was better. I was to busy building up a story (and even making a plothole) and not really doing much in this movies. I've only seen it once, tho I am confused what crimes Grinderwald acually did...
November 20, 2018
A movie meant for fans and nothing else. There was a lot of cheering in the hall which made it fun for an otherwise drab movie. The acting was blah, the writing even more blah and Johnny Depp cringeworthy. I will still watch the finale though since I am a sucker for these things!
½ November 20, 2018
1.5/5. Jude Law and Eddie Redmayne are great, but this movie is boring, stupid, and full of unnecessary characters and side-plots. It also has one of the dumbest twist endings I have ever seen.
November 20, 2018
I´┐ 1/2(TM)m from Indonesia, this movies is a family movie right? I enjoy the story, I may not be a movie director or anything but I do think this Fantastic Beast Series is VERY amazing, it´┐ 1/2(TM)s like the ´┐ 1/2Star War´┐ 1/2? for Generation Y because everyone just freaking loves it!
Page 1 of 56