Fantastic Beasts: The Crimes of Grindelwald - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Fantastic Beasts: The Crimes of Grindelwald Reviews

Page 1 of 12
November 20, 2018
A big part of what made this second Fantastic Beasts installment work for me is that so much of the character and world-building was already taken care of last time, which in turn made it feel like there are some actual stakes in play.
Full Review | Original Score: B
November 19, 2018
Sometimes, you fall for a certain sort of film, even when you know better.
November 19, 2018
Crimes of Grindelwald tries to do a lot all at once to often disorienting effect, like Hermione taking extra classes but without the aid of a Time-Turner.
November 19, 2018
It may be more problematic than its predecessor, but it's also as ambitious. [Full review in Portuguese]
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
November 19, 2018
If you're a fan of the series and plan to go see it if you haven't already: Go see it, you'll probably like it, but be prepared to be confused on a spectrum of a little to a lot.
November 19, 2018
There are issues, there are canon contradictions, but when it's good, it works and through the (cluttered) mess of story threads lies some real intrigue for future chapters.
Full Review | Original Score: 7.5/10
November 19, 2018
Fans of fantastical special effects will like this version probably as well as the first.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
November 19, 2018
Never for a frame less than gorgeous to the eye, its beauty saves these beasts.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
November 18, 2018
"The Crimes of Grindelwald" is going to leave you with more questions than answers, but for Rowling's fans, this movie is a treat and proves she is still very much on top of her game.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
November 18, 2018
Conjures enough wistful enchantment in the little moments or wow-factor visual spectacle in ostentatious set-pieces.. But it doesn't half tie itself up in knots getting there.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
November 18, 2018
FB2 proves to be an entertaining episode ending on an engaging enough note to keep you curious about the next offering in J.K. Rowling's incomparable Wizarding World series.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
November 18, 2018
While the action set pieces and effects are dizzyingly immersive, the storytelling is fussy and somehow uncompelling.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
November 17, 2018
The Crimes of Grindelwald is far from a perfect adventure, but its pleasures are no less potent than those of its fellows.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
November 17, 2018
I'm still with it-for now. I'm going to believe Rowling is taking this route of undermining her protagonists with purpose, but she better prove it to me in the next one.
Full Review | Original Score: 6/10
November 16, 2018
It ties into the Harry Potter lore, and I think that's why I really enjoyed it. It's trying to tie the canon together...once again, I think it's confusing, but I liked the character of Newt...
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
November 16, 2018
Fans of this series know where all these Fantastic Beasts films are heading and this film is an impressive and thrilling stepping stone to that end.
Full Review | Original Score: A
November 16, 2018
The visual effects are stunning, often overwhelming in the way they fill the screen with a series of eye-catching spectacles.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
November 16, 2018
...in the messy but often dazzling Fantastic Beasts: The Crimes of Grindelwald, Rowling rains down so much lore we may need a semester at Hogwarts to keep up.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
November 16, 2018
Luckily, some truly remarkable cinematography and delightful cast of magical folk and beasts make the ride an enjoyable one, even when you're feeling overwhelmed with new information.
November 16, 2018
Fantastic Beasts: The Crimes of Grindelwald isn't as well-constructed in narrative terms as we might like. Still, it brings us back to old friends and new wonders, and on the whole, it's worthwhile.
Full Review | Original Score: B
Page 1 of 12